When I’m gone.


Today I attendedrain dance the funeral of a very sweet lady.   She had written letters to those of us left behind. Some individuals and some en mass.   The theme, Love your brothers and sisters.  Offer encouraging words, and be ever ready to forgive.  Tell those you love that you love them.

This was the fourth funeral in a month.  It just puts one to thinking about those things that need to be arranged for, hopefully some day after, say your 95th birthday.   What songs to play – What stories to tell –  and even what to do with this earthly shell.

First, I need to be concerned with going about the Father’s work.  He invites us all to share in the harvest.  Follow His leading and increase the kingdom.   Do I do this all the time?, No.  Do I want to?, YES

Romans 7:19  I don’t want to do what is wrong, but I do it anyway.  English Standard Version For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing.    I am in good company  with Paul.    I love that God’s word gives us many references of the Saints, being less “saintly” , we are all human and not a one of us perfect.   But, God forgives those who ask! Isn’t that wonderful, all we have to do is “ASK”

In 2 Chronicles there is a recounting of the reign of Asa.  He sought God’s help in at all times and God blessed him greatly.  Then Asa was afflicted in his feet.  He never ask God for help.  He called in the doctors and tried all kinds of things but would not ask God.  Asa, died from his foot aliment. .

2 Chronicles 16:12    In the thirty-ninth year of his reign Asa was afflicted with a disease in his feet. Though his disease was severe, even in his illness he did not seek help from the LORD, but only from the physician.

When we fail to ask God or to thank God for our daily needs and blessings, it is likened to a spoiled child that feels he in entitled to whatever he wants.
My project is to make my visits to the fountain of regret, fewer and farther between.  I pray for wisdom over and over and I am slowly getting more and more.  Emphasis on  “Slowly” .

I guess my point today is – Keep living, until you die.   Leave the remembrance to those left behind.  Work on what they will remember.  Love & Laughter for now.

Leave a Reply

