Widow’s Might!


 

The IMG_20130629_084234_780Widow’s Mite, maybe it should be Might!

Luke 21:1 As Jesus looked up, he saw the rich putting their gifts into the temple treasury. He also saw a
poor widow put in two very small copper coins. “Truly I tell you,” he said, “this poor widow has put in more than all the others. All  these people gave their gifts out of their wealth; but she out of her poverty put in all she had to live on.”  Luke 21:1-4 New International Version (NIV)

Offering : 1a :  the act of one who offers  b :  something offeredespecially :  a sacrifice ceremonially offered as a part of worship c :  a contribution to the support of a cause or organization.

Sacrifice:  the act of giving up something that you want to keep “especially” in order to get or do something else or to help someone

God has blessed me with poverty.                                                                                                   How much closer I cling to Christ when I am at poverty’s door.

I am thankful, now.  It is a challenge to look into the cupboards and know I needed to feed my children, and quite often their friends with what appears to be impossibly lacking. God gave me skills to stretch and to manage. God gave me Might!

God has granted me wealth.  This was not the blessing that poverty was. How much less did I cling to the Cross.  I forgot the blessings of poverty.  I did not need to Sacrifice. In fact, I had waste.  Waste of food, waste of money, waste of time.

How clear this is to me now that God blessed me with much and I took the gift He Sacrificed to give, and went on my way to take care of myself.  I did not forget Him, but I did not feel that He was the very thread that held me afloat. My money was mine, I gave some to the kingdom. I gave more than I had given in poverty, but the percentage was much less and the sacrifice was non existent. I was like the “rich young ruler” whose wealth kept him from the blessings God had for him.

The rich young ruler and the widow, both hold strong truths. Don’t fail to give like Jesus, how was that you ask? Sacrificially.   We celebrate His total Sacrifice at the communion table.  He gave His life, it wasn’t taken.  He gives to us and asks that we give a portion back. It is unfortunate that in this world there are those of us who are not faithful in much.  God has given me opportunity to grow through poverty and He has given me wisdom to grow in much.

In my lack He makes me rich. In His riches I have no lack.

Leave a Reply

